What the … ?!

Standard

We were standing in our local supermarket late Saturday evening, debating, as couples are wont to do when faced with extraordinarily basic decisions such as what to eat, when something caught my ear.  Something over the speakers, irritating and jingly.

“Are they playing CHRISTMAS songs?”  I asked incredulously.

Other half duly focused on the sound.

“Nah, it’s London Bridge.”

“London Bridge?!  As in London Bridge is Falling Down?!”

If anything, I was even more incredulous.  It seemed a slightly random choice of music, not the kind of thing that you expect to hear being played over a public address system.  But then maybe I don’t spend enough time in nurseries and crèches.

As we continued our rounds of the aisles we were subsequently serenaded by Oh Dear What Can the Matter Be and Pussy Cat, Pussy Cat.  It was time to leave.

10 thoughts on “What the … ?!

  1. What the…?!? is right!! Good grief. I’m kind of glad it wasn’t Christmas music, but I’m also kind of scared that it was London Bridge is Falling Down. So weird.

  2. weathervane

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back very soon. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

