The Smallest Things

Standard

Is it just me?  Sometimes the smallest thing will take on a profound significance.  Sometimes the smallest thing will drive you nuts making you wonder why.  Sometimes you have to find the answer to the smallest thing.  That’s probably why they invented internet search engines because I know that I’m not the only one out there!  (I know this because I keep finding that people have bothered to answer the questions and niggles that flash into my brain cells at the oddest moment and post about the oddest things.)

This week’s niggle has been of vital global importance (of course!): which is the right side of foil?  You know the shiny stuff in the kitchen.  Well, it does have one shiny side and one slightly more matt side.  I’ve always wrapped shiny side out.  A lot of people think this is wrong and are quite happy to tell me so.  It struck me that I could put this into a modern oracle which would conjure up the answer and provide enlightenment.  So I did.

A lot of people do prefer putting shiny side in.  (Why?!  That’s just plain WRONG.  It’s not the nonstick side!)  Some people believe that the two sides are for two different purposes, one side you use inside if you storing things in the fridge and the other side inside if you’re heating things up.  (Now that’s an advanced theory, I’d just get confused!)

But apparently there is no difference between the surfaces regardless of shine, it’s just some quirk of the manufacturing process.

So I thought I’d just share this with you all.  What side do you prefer?

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

