Autumn Days

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Autumn is beautiful.  Who is going to deny that?  It’s a jewel box palette of golds, bronzes, reds and yellows.  People consult calendars, they read up, they’re inspired to plan trips and entire holidays chasing the perfect locations, greedily loading up their senses on the brief colour fest.

And to me, that’s where the sadness of the season lies.  It’s absolutely stunning but whereas spring is a promise, autumn carries something of a threat.  After the glory dies, then there is nothing but bleak midwinter to anticipate.  The days are getting shorter, the light is failing and the magical mists are turning to fogs.  It’s a short lived season, transitory, sandwiched between the two most often disappointing seasons and prey to such an array of meteorological conditions that the glory can be either very short-lived or barely even existent.

I’m glad however that I live in a climate where autumn does show.  It must be strange to live somewhere where the seasons tend to bleed into one.  I love the colours, the seasonal treasures.  I love finding the first conkers, shiny chocolate coloured nuggets, and acorns, muter, hiding amongst the grass.  I love scrunching through woodland paths strewn with fallen leaves.  I love trying to capture all the wonder on my camera.

Autumn is a triumphal exit before the grey of winter, a scream of colour and a hamper of limited edition goodies.  The threat and pessimism may be there but I’ll always try to make the most of autumn, however brief.

RemembeRED - A Memoir Meme

20 thoughts on “Autumn Days

  1. Nice idea — autumn to me is such a respite after the fierceness of summer. But our winter is so mild that I don’t dread bleakness. Your words are a reminder that others do — and conkers! I was int he UK recently, found some, and instantly became a child again. They’re still by my bed…

  2. Yes, this. I know this well. I love fall with all my heart.

    But here in MN? Winter’s loom is ominous. Shudder.

    Love this take! Edgy for such a well loved season! :)

  3. I don’t mind the winter, and I have always (or used to at least) seen fall as a new beginning, so I don’t see it as a threat. With the exception of the shorter days. I do have a touch of SAD. It’s already getting to the point of darkness most nights before I leave work, which is depressing. It’s funny you mention acorns, as I love (to the point of obsession) crunching acorn tops on dog walks. I’ll walk out of my way to step on one. I have no idea why it’s so satisfying!

    P.S. I love green too!

  4. “a scream of colour and a hamper of limited edition goodies”- beautifully put!

    Here in Oregon we usually get fall colors but it’s been subdued this year. The leaves are falling but without a burst of color.

  5. as someone who definitely lives where the seasons are non-existent… i’m very jealous of your seasons!! autumn really is beautiful. lovely writing!

  6. You make a good point! It can be hard to treasure the passing moments knowing that winter lies ahead! But these lines belie your words and show me you try anyways:

    “I love the colours, the seasonal treasures. I love finding the first conkers, shiny chocolate coloured nuggets, and acorns, muter, hiding amongst the grass. I love scrunching through woodland paths strewn with fallen leaves.”

  7. Very lovely. “It’s absolutely stunning but whereas spring is a promise, autumn carries something of a threat. After the glory dies, then there is nothing but bleak midwinter to anticipate.” I love those lines.

  8. “The threat and pessimism may be there but I’ll always try to make the most of autumn, however brief.”

    I struggle with this every year. I love the warmth of summer so, for me, autumn is a transition to the achingly cold winter that I wish to avoid.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

