The Alphabet of Camels

Standard

Camels are rather intriguing beasts, in terms of shape, drinking habits and manners.  (Don’t believe anyone who tells you that a spitting camel is professing its love when it spits at you and they make human tongue curling seem a primitive art, these guys can blow their tongues into bubbles or something like that).

There are two types of camel, although the one humped version is perhaps the one that comes to mind sooner.  They have rather fancy proper names, they are the Bactrian and the dromedary.  I can remember the name ‘dromedary’ but the ‘Bactrian’ never seems to stay in my mind.  It’s a rather funny word and I tend to merge it with germy words like bacteria which makes it slightly off-putting.  Now which is the Bactrian and which is the dromedary is definitely something I can’t remember.

Then I met a brilliant mnemonic the other day to remember which is which.  Just in case identifying camels is something you need to do regularly, you know.  (It was my husband who told me it but I’m not going to try to praise him too much!)

Draw out a capital B and then a capital D.  Turn them on their side.  You have two camels.

The Bactrian camel has two humps.  It’s the capital B.  (B for Bactrian)

The dromedary camel has one hump.  It’s the capital D.  (D for dromedary)

I love word pictures!

Oh and even better, camels belong to the family of even-toed ungulates.  That’s a great name.

8 thoughts on “The Alphabet of Camels

  1. Newton Kotz

    I was reading through some of your posts on this site and I believe this website is really informative! Retain posting.

  2. Xuan Parilla

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you’ve acquired right here, really like what you are saying and the way in which by which you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you. That is actually a terrific website.

  3. weathervane

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve you guys to my blogroll.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

