I Would Like to Know …

Standard
  1. Why someone was possessed to compose the name Judius Maximus on the fridge in magnetic letters?  (You probably would like to know why we have magnetic letters on our fridge in a childless home but hey!)
  2. Why the new brand of lemon ‘flavoured’ washing up liquid smells like cherry cough sweets?
  3. Why duvet covers eat other clothes in the washing machine?
  4. Why the spellchecker on WordPress believes that both ‘half’ and ‘accept’ are not real words?  (Yes, I actually did have to paranoidly look them both up just in case it was me that was cracking up not it).
  5. Why on earth I still can’t hear (and therefore always misuse) the difference between ‘then’ and ‘than’?  (You don’t have to go and squint hard at my posts now please!)
  6. Why when I decided to chuck a whole extra dose of bleaching fluid in the white wash there was a black T-shirt in there for some reason?
  7. Why the said black T-shirt didn’t bleach at all?

Why, why, why.  Maybe we shouldn’t have lost the habit of asking this important question.  I guess the problem is that we stop asking it of the profound and just get bogged down in the mundane.  But those are the things that have made my mind boggle this weekend.

10 thoughts on “I Would Like to Know …

  1. weathervane

    Hi there I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. I’ve had the exact same thing happen to me with a bleach/white load and an errant t-shirt of dark color sneak in. And nothing happened? Why, indeed! (Especially when I’ve had colors bleed on other clothes with no bleach involved. I don’t get it. )

    • Exactly! I’m very confused. If a wee red item can turn everything an inappropriate shade of pink then how can a black T-shirt survive the onslaught of sterilising fluid?! It’s definitely one of the deeper things of the universe. :)

  3. Two of the best qualities you can have in my opinion.

    Actually, I think you’ll find they’re more characteristics, rather than qualities…

    (See what I did there????? I’m a clever cookie.) :D

  4. I always ask stupid questions like that. Like…who decides when the lamp-posts should get turned on? Who cares about daylight savings anyway? What is timeshare (yes, I asked that in a crowded room once, and everyone laughed at me).

    • I can come up with plenty of facetious definitions for timeshare, it’s definitely a slightly odd arrangement sometimes though! ;) It’s important to ponder these important questions. :)

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

