FO: Cheeky Monkey

Standard

I started this a long while ago but what with one thing and another, well you know how it goes.  That and I really loathe making up toys like this because I’m convinced that I’ll do a such a bad job of it.  Anyhow, it wasn’t quite as bad as I thought it could be and his ears and eyes etc are all roughly in the right, symmetrical places.  Roughly.  Maybe the problem is that I see my own faults too clearly.

But anyway, this little fellow is all made up and ready to go to his new home.  The pattern says that it’s an ideal gift for a new baby or any under five.  Hmm, my recipient is a good deal older than that, in years at least.  Who said boys grew up?!  The advantage is that when they’re five times that age, they can buy the yarn themselves.  You want it, you get the yarn.  Well it’s a little hard to gauge the seriousness of a request for a toy monkey, you know.  Cheeky monkeys us all!

Meet the monkey:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pattern was pretty easy to knit, I’ve already done the hippo in the series and the bodies were very similar.  The peeled sections on the banana were the probably the most difficult parts to knit, makeup and attach, fiddly, and I found that the stitches, especially with the shaping, ended up quite loose so dropping a needle size or two might help.

What I like with knitting toys like this is that you start by knitting up a whole load of what appear to be fairly random shapes and then when it all comes together and works, it’s good, it’s fun.

8 thoughts on “FO: Cheeky Monkey

  1. Anonymous

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  2. Anonymous

    This is the perfect webpage for anybody who wishes to understand this
    topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will
    need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a
    subject that’s been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  3. Oh how adorable!! I have GOT to learn how to knit. My mother-in-law made us all Christmas stockings – awesome ones – and I’d like to be able to secretly patch them.

    • Hehe, I find that it’s very calming, in fact it’s about the only thing that will (sometimes) send me to sleep. Have a go, there’s loads of tutorials online, even if you just start with string and pencils to get the feel of it. :)

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

