Bring on the Cake

Standard

Fairycakes

Although I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, no honestly I don’t, I don’t see why the world seems to have united against cake and other puddings.  Sin may be unfashionable but the last remaining one is pudding, sweet stuff.  Cookbooks no longer have dessert chapters.  Healthy eating fanatics frown on anything but fruit and veg and whatever else their creed ordains.  Maybe I’m too liberal.  I don’t think eating sweet stuff will kill you.  I don’t think it’s virtuous to deny a major food section.  If you enjoy it, eat it, if you want it, eat it.  In moderation.  In balance.

So I was rather surprised when a national charity fundraising project themed on sport kickstarted its annual campaign with a celebrity bake-off.  One of those Americanisms that are a rather useful addition to the vocabulary.   And then urged viewers to hold their own.  Hang on?  Sports?  Healthy living?  Bake-off?  I’m confused.  They’re not exactly synonymous in popular culture at the moment.

Maybe it’s simply because baking has become fashionable.  Cute cupcakes don’t have calories.  Cool things generally don’t.  It’s only when something is unfashionable that it becomes laden with more toxins and calories and deadliness than you can possibly imagine.  Stuffing your face on baked treats plainly isn’t as unhealthy as eating a portion of pudding after your main meal.  Logically.

Cake has featured elsewhere in my life this last week too.

Remember that pattern I was waging war with and how I was attempting the daunting mathematics somewhere in the middle?  I roped in the husband.  Who has been to numeracy classes and is now hailed genius.  (Only when it comes to numbers that is, I wouldn’t want him to have an overinflated ego).  Nope.  In the end it came down to cake.  If I have two types of cakes (demonstrated by the counter and a knitting needle), invite thirty guests and want each of them to have both cakes, how many cakes will I end up with?  Sixty.  We were pretty confident about that.  Having mentally lined up two columns of thirty counters and thirty needles.  Alright.  So if I need sixty cakes (which equals rows in this disturbed example), I need to add sixty to eighty.  A slightly harder mathematical challenge.  We made it 140.  (Which to my mind is confirmed by 7+7).  So I need to get to 140 before starting on the decreases.  We think.  I think.

This beastie is growing at an alarming rate.  I’ll let you know what happens!

6 thoughts on “Bring on the Cake

  1. Pingback: Anonymous
  2. Lyman Frum

    Usually I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

