Getting My Head Straight

Standard

I’ve had a little wobble psychologically but my head is back on track now but I have so much that I could write about!  (And, unfortunately, you can be sure that it involves knitting).  Anyway, for the time being, I’m going to catch up with an award that the very lovely Emily over at My Pajama Days gave me.  The title of her post just about sums it up, sometimes a little bit of recognition is like a splash of sunshine on a very bleak day.  It cheered me up during my own wobble but I couldn’t quite deal with the formalities just then.

liebster-award-21

Being something of a pedant, even in other languages for which three years of schooling left little impression, I had to check the gender of liebster.  My suspicions were right, it’s masculine.  It should be meine liebste when addressed to a female blogger.  Though I’m not sure whether many bloggers are in the habit of calling each other my dearest.

Anyway, pedantry over, I return to formalities.

I have to answer these eleven questions:

If I had a million pounds, I still couldn’t buy happiness.

What is the best gift you have ever received?  Some would say life, but I value love more.

What inspires me?  All sorts of things, all sorts of people.  But I do need sunshine.

If you could have a “do-over” in life, what would you try to do differently?  Regrets are one thing but if we could undo particular episodes of our lives and live them over, we could end up missing out so many of the good moments too.  It takes a little rain.

What is something that most people don’t know about you?  That I write!  (You guys do though).

What is your favorite magazine?  Magazines promise such a lot but tend to disappoint, I think it’s because I can read one in about half an hour.  They don’t last, they’re kind of like a sugar high rather than anything substantial.  I’ve had to give up food magazines because my box of recipe cuttings is now taking over the world (and cluttering my head) but my favourites are the Sainsburys’ Magazine (decide for yourself where or whether for the apostrophe) and the relatively new Vegetarian Living.   As a teenager, the now defunct Vegetarian Good Food was a huge support and inspiration when I turned veggie-ish.  I think knitting magazines however are pretty good value, you get dozens of patterns (which individually would cost the same each as the magazine) and even a free toy.  I like free toys.  And value.  The Knit Now magazine is my current favourite, it’s done a lot for my confidence.  (Hm, I can write quite a lot about magazines, not good!)

What is your proudest moment?  I’ve spent a lifetime trying to avoid pride, the sinful kind with a capital P, so I can’t really answer this comfortably.  Knitting occasionally does sneak prideful moments on me.

If your house was on fire, what one thing you would grab before getting out?  Fire is one of my biggest phobias.  The idea that something can consume and destroy everything in such a short time is unbearably painful for me to contemplate.  When we were children, probably even preschoolers, my mother drilled us very thoroughly in what to do in a fire, it involved pushing a mattress out of the window and jumping out.  (Fortunately due to variations in topography, this bedroom window wasn’t much further than three foot above the road).  Evacuation didn’t involve grabbing possession.  However as I also have a phobia of losing things, I would devastatingly conflicted in such an circumstance.  It’s why I keep my backed up photos in a metal filing cabinet.

What are you most afraid of?  Oh, pretty much everything.

If you could have any job, just for a day, what would you do?  In such a fantastical world where clearly confidence isn’t a problem, I would write the book.

This is where I discover that I wasn’t actually meant to answer these questions but different ones.  I’m sure that I’ve mentioned that I’m not good at reading through instructions (or patterns) before starting.

Anyway, I’ll do those another day, it’s nice easy blogging for bad head days.

Then I have to award it to another eleven (why are they so keen on eleven?) bloggers:

  1. Jester Queen (because she adores awards)
  2. Me, Mine and Other Bits
  3. thekitchensgarden
  4. The Sweaty Knitter (I’ve learnt so much from Karen Berthine’s blog!)
  5. Susan B. Anderson (and from this one too!)
  6. The Kitchen Witch
  7. Rubber Chicken Madness
  8. Little Cotton Rabbits (aren’t they gorgeous?)
  9. theycallmejane
  10. Happymaking Designs
  11. thecvillean (if he survives!)

Feel free to answer either set of questions!

Here’s the second set:

  1. How do you balance your creativity with your life?
  2. Why did you start blogging?
  3. Do you own more books in print or electronically?
  4. What kind of music do you listen to when you write?
  5. Which of your 5 senses would be the most devastating to lose?
  6. What is the worst advice you have ever received?
  7. What is the best advice you have ever received?
  8. What food comes to mind when you think of “comfort food”?
  9. Do you crave salt or sweet?
  10. What one thing are you most proud of from this past year?
  11. What one thing to you most hope to achieve in the next year?

7 thoughts on “Getting My Head Straight

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

