The Other Questions

Standard

Three Crayons

As I said the other day, I answered the wrong questions when Emily gave me the Liebster award.  So today, I’m back, hopefully answering the right questions this time.  It’s also a nice excuse for a simple post after a long day and it might just stop me from crawling into my bed at half past six.  Not good.  Let’s ramble.

How do you balance your creativity with your life?

I’m realising that I’m not very good at this, in some ways I’m always creative in everyday life but on the other hand, creativity is also something that I feel that I should be embarrassed about and try to hide away.  I also don’t risk trying to do things because I fear that I will fail.  But whilst I may need to be a little more daring in some aspects of creativity, I’m the person to come to if you want an off-the-wall, out-of-the-box solution to a problem.  Anytime.

Why did you start blogging?

Because I need to write, my head is bubbling over with ideas and thoughts and well, blogging gives me a space to release them.  It’s also been a vital part of my confidence journey.  Thanks for putting up with me.

Do you own more books in print or electronically?

In print, there are books everywhere.  Including under the bed.  I really don’t get people who take books to the loo with them though, eugh.

What kind of music do you listen to when you write?

Actually, I don’t.  I find it too hard to concentrate otherwise; there’s too much going on in my head to add another voice or noise.

Which of your 5 senses would be the most devastating to lose?

Okeydokey, let’s just factor in the fact that I desperately need to wear both glasses and hearing aids and you’ll figure that I’m pretty much stuffed already.  I’d hate to lose either of those totally, especially my sight.  But after that?  What have I got left anyway?  Smell, touch … taste.  Taste is good.  I don’t smell (I hope!).  So touch?  Maybe my calloused fingers wouldn’t keep catching on my knitting then!  (Or does it not work like that?)

What is the worst advice you have ever received?

Hm.  I tend to ignore it eventually but it can have bad effects psychologically at the time.  Maybe we could try directions?  Useless directions really don’t help, you know.  Like, oh, you can get a bus straight from the airport.   Scratch that, there’s a transport strike.  You could try walking a mile to the nearest train station and seeing if a train comes along.  With all your suitcases.

What is the best advice you have ever received?

Live.

What food comes to mind when you think of “comfort food”?

Let’s not talk about the macaroni cheese, OK?  I’ve got a rather physical conscience of that now.

Do you crave salt or sweet?

Usually sweet, if I crave salty stuff then something weird is going on.  And I’m seriously over tired.  But I prefer savoury foods like cheese (see above comment about macaroni cheese) to sweet stuff like chocolate.  Maybe I could just have some cheesecake then?  Mm.

What one thing are you most proud of from this past year?

I’ve got here.  (Ooh, oops, just admitted to being Proud, I’ve definitely come a long way then).

What one thing to you most hope to achieve in the next year?

To get somewhere else on my journey.

~

How would you answer these questions?  (Or the other ones!)

2 thoughts on “The Other Questions

  1. I have loved watching you grow in confidence. I think your knitting has also been a huge part of that journey. I think, in retrospect, that that’s what I enjoy most about your knitting posts, which I totally adore. It’s that you aren’t just telling us about finished objects, you’re demonstrating with your descriptions, a new found confidence and (tries to whisper, fails badly) pride in your accomplishments. Way to GO!

    • Aw, thank you! I definitely agree with you that knitting has been a very therapeutic process for me, it has helped me confidence and helped me to openly express my creativity in what at times feels a safer way than writing. However, I’m still working out the whole pride thing, most of the time it’s still just surprise that I managed not to totally mess up my project.

      And I have just noticed the massive mistake I’ve made with my title so I better go and fix that! :$

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

