A Daily Photo

Standard

I want to be inspired.  I want to create.

Then life gets in the way.

I decided a couple of weeks ago, when things were momentarily feeling a little brighter, easier, better, that I’d love to do a photo-a-day project.  I love the idea of the challenge and the dedication that it would require.  I love the idea of being prompted, of seeking out creative (aka idiosyncratic) responses, of responding, of making, of sharing.  It’d be a perfect project.

Then life gets in the way.

I managed two days.

But it’s hard to be inspired, it’s hard to be creative; in fact, it’s hard to even lift a camera much less attempt to operate the thing and never mind being creative with the thing.

Life gets in the way.

My head and my heart are often far more active than my body; they want, they aspire, they desire.  But the physical me just lies weakly on the bed, wondering about having the strength to turn over.

Life gets in the way.

There’s so much that I want to be and do.  When the lugubrious grey cloud of Depression lifts, I want to embrace the world and engage with, well, everything.  And all at once, preferably!

Then life gets in the way.

I managed two days.

But on the plus side, I did learn myself some new editing techniques.

Does trying count?  Does wanting to count?

Daily - 080813 - My Favourite Necklace

Daily - 090813 - Pinky Plums from the Garden

8 thoughts on “A Daily Photo

  1. It does count. There’s a Bukowski poem about creation I’ve long kept at hand. I share this not to make you feel guilty but to say that whatever your circumstances and whatever ability you have is a good place to start.

    air and light and time and space

    “–you know, I’ve either had a family, a job,
    something has always been in the
    way
    but now
    I’ve sold my house, I’ve found this
    place, a large studio, you should see the space and
    the light.
    for the first time in my life I’m going to have
    a place and the time to
    create.”

    no baby, if you’re going to create
    you’re going to create whether you work
    16 hours a day in a coal mine
    or
    you’re going to create in a small room with 3 children
    while you’re on
    welfare,
    you’re going to create with part of your mind and your body blown
    away,
    you’re going to create blind
    crippled
    demented,
    you’re going to create with a cat crawling up your
    back while
    the whole city trembles in earthquake, bombardment,
    flood and fire.

    baby, air and light and time and space
    have nothing to do with it
    and don’t create anything
    except maybe a longer life to find
    new excuses
    for.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

