FO: My Kind of Summer Shawl

Standard

Bandana Cowl Point

Do you remember that I said that I had knit up a new shawl over the summer?  I just haven’t got around to showing you the photographs and telling you about it, it’s the story of my blogging life.  I have plenty of ideas (especially in the middle of the night!) but life just gets in the way of my developing them.  Life, health and technology.  This year has also been a nightmare when it comes to technology, toothaches and gremlins galore.

Last summer I knit up my heavily adapted Solstice Scarf by Jacqui Harding in a very thick, warm and heavy bouclé yarn which I then proceeded to wear on the warmest day of the year.  Naturally.

Although I did eventually appreciate my new scarf during the winter, you would have thought that there were lessons to be learnt.  Aren’t there always?

But you see, I have a somewhat sceptical approach to summer and every year me and my friends have a day out planned which seems to only attract the worst of weather.  Being hardy, determined folk, we haven’t given up yet.  And me being me, it’s never quite as bad as I forecast.  I forecast snow every time so I’m rarely disappointed by rain or wind or fog!

Therefore there was a kind of logic to me planning and knitting a winter-weight shawl for the middle of summer.  Perhaps a slightly me, slightly pessimistic logic but a logic nonetheless.

I’ve had my eye on this pattern for ages but then I couldn’t find it when I actually wanted to knit it up.  I think I was rushing.  Me and some knitty friends had a yarn swap and I acquired some beautiful yarn that was just calling to be my new cowl.  (It’s a funny word, isn’t it?)  So I cast on as soon as I got home, scrabbling around the internet for a pattern.  (I ended up using a free one from the Lion brand website).

It knit up quickly, which is perfect for my attention span.  (If I check on Ravelry, in just a couple of days which has got to be a record for me!  And was it really that long ago?!)  And pretty soon I was test-wearing my new cowl.

And then shelving it because it was far, far too warm to wear!

But I took it with me and when the mercury dropped, I was highly grateful for it.  There’s something about sitting outdoors that makes you mercilessly prey to bad weather, isn’t there?  I also discovered that I can pull it right up to my eyes, pull my hat right down to my ears and then fall asleep in private!  (Well, I was sussed by those who know me too well).  I am a human snowball of woollens but when the weather is thus, I am only too grateful!  Now to make some more hand-knit socks …

Bandana Cowl

(PS.  The colours are gorgeous, it’s just one of those colourways that doesn’t photograph easily!)

(PPS.  I probably do need to iron shirts before I use them in photos!)

(PPPS.  Didn’t you love adding PSs to letters when you were little too?)

3 thoughts on “FO: My Kind of Summer Shawl

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

