Why Should I Be Unhappy?

Standard

To bloom is to be happy

But are flowers happy?

Do they feel the sun and smile?

Or when they admire their own petals?

 

To bloom is to be happy

Do I bloom?

And if I don’t, can I still smile?

And if I don’t, can I still be happy?

 

To bloom is to be happy

What does it mean to bloom?

To flourish?  To grow?

To feel the sunshine?

 

To bloom is to be happy

Do we only grow when we are happy?

Or is there growth in sadness?

Or is there strength in pain?

 

Or are we happy because we bloom?

 
 

A sort of poem inspired by this week’s Write on Edge prompt, which included this quote by Rumi:

 

Why should I be unhappy? Every parcel of my being is in full bloom. ― Rumi

 

4 thoughts on “Why Should I Be Unhappy?

  1. Kir Piccini

    such a thoughtful and unique way to approach the prompt.

    And, yes, I think that sadness and loss (just like rain ) can help us grow, can help us stretch beyond our breaks and times of trouble.

    But it is when we bloom, when we reach for the sunshine and the sky that we open most fully, we might need rain and darkness to rejuvenate but the days in the sun are the ones that encourage our true colors.

    beautiful, just beautiful.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

