The Nature of Me

Standard

What is me?
A shadow or a being?
Something lost or something to be found?
If at birth I am me
Then once I was me
But now?
Who is me?
If at death I am me
Then I am not yet me
Then what of now?
Is me just a hope or dream?
Something far off
Until a line cuts through
And marks the end?
Something lost or something to be found?
What is me?
And what of now?
I am me
Something shaped by what is lost
Something shaping what is to be found
A someone in the passage of time
Me is a moment in time
And yet an entire lifetime
I am me

2 thoughts on “The Nature of Me

  1. Upon rereading, i was struck by the lost-or-found theme and its resolution; also by the moment/lifetime contrast. Strong poem¡ I wish you had written it a few years ago when a young friend told that me she was struggling to find herself. I might not have blurted out something I have since regretted; I told her that I was more concerned about how to lose myself. Your phrase “something shaping what is to be found” could have been part of a far more sensitive and helpful response.

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

