Trifecta: Scandal

Standard

A new challenge for me today, I’m posting a short piece of fiction in response to this week’s Trifecta prompt.  Trifecta prompts require a piece between 33 and 333 words using the third definition of the word provided, the word in that original form must also be used within the piece.  This week’s word is ‘scandal’.  As you know, I’m always a little nervous doing these things so I hope I’ve got the right end of the stick, understood all the instructions and that my little story makes sense in the world outside of my crazy head!  Oh, and further inspiration came from a line in one of Kate Shrewsday’s posts.  Thanks for reading.

~

Mrs Jones, Mrs Smith and Mrs Reilly were taking a well-earned break from their labours, scarves round their heads, pinnies around their bulbous waists, I think Mrs Smith still had her mop in hand.  Taking a break and surveying the neighbourhood and neighbours, when something caught their beady eyes and set them all a-twitter.

“Tsk, tsk,” said Mrs Reilly, shaking her head.
“That Jenny has no idea, her and her fancy IKEA sofa and flat screen TV, she thinks she’s going to sit around all day and put her feet up,” chirped Mrs Smith.
“And making her Rob run around, he’s been going back and forth all morning.  She doesn’t lift a finger!” continued Mrs Reilly.
“It’s an utter scandal.  That girl would do better to have her mind on housekeeping and babies,” sighed Mrs Jones.
“So late in the season already!”  agreed Mrs Smith.  “Chucking out all that nice insulation, it’d be beautifully warm for the little ones.  Just sitting there watching telly.”
“Scandal, scandal, scandal!”  twittered Mrs Reilly.

They shook their heads, feathers ruffled by the attitudes of the modern housewife.

17 thoughts on “Trifecta: Scandal

  1. Ha, very clever. This is really well written and i love the character you give to the ‘three old birds’. Hope you can join us for the weekend prompt which is already up on the site. It’s community judging this weekend, so get your entry in and get voting!

  2. Yay! I love it I love it!! I’m so glad you’re doing Trifecta. It’s tons of fun. And you’ve captured the word perfectly above, as well as a generational clash that is going to lead to neighborhood tension.

    I’m a little unclear what insulation she’s chucked out. Did she clear out an attic to make a new room? But I loved these three characters. They were like the chorus of a greek play!

  3. Fabulous! I think if I had put a hidden microphone out there today as nest-building was going on, I might have heard just this dialogue, IE. Infectious humour today :-D

I'd love to know what you think, concrit is especially welcomed on fiction pieces. Thank you.

